Historical perspective of the Kwara State House of Assembly

The 1979 general elections in Kwara State marked the emergence of the 1st legislature (1979 to 19830. The first legislature of the Kwara State House of Assembly was inaugurated in the in-door sports Hall of the Kwara State Stadium complex which was used as temporary complex for the legislature. The 2nd legislature (Oct. 1983 to Dec. 1983) was aborted through a military coup in 1983. The 3rd legislature (1992 to 1993), located at permanent site of the Assembly complex along Asa Dam Road Ilorin, which was commissioned on 1st January, 1992 by Brigadier Alwali jauji kazir was also short-lived due to a military coup. The 1999 constitution (as amended) gave birth to the 4th legislature (1999 to 2003). Democracy through credible elections is being sustain in Kwara State ever sinces. The 5th legislature was experienced between 2003 to 2007 while the 6th legislature came on board in June 2007. The Hon. Members of the 7th legislature of Kwara state were sworn in on 6th June, 2011 with a 4-year term of office.